Thursday, December 2, 2010

Gregor Ewan beats Aileen Neilson for 2010 British Open title

2010 British Open Wheelchair Curling Champions

Jackie Cayton lead, Jim Gault 2nd, Mike McKenzie 3rd and Gregor Ewan skip
[photo courtesy Gregor Ewan via Bob Cowan's blog]

Ten teams competed last weekend for the 2010 British Open title. The three day event in Kilmarnock, Scotland, comprised two pools of five teams. Aillen Neilson skipped a Braehead team that was unbeaten in Pool A after a 10-3 win over second place Gregor Ewan's Moray rink with three wins. Angie Malone topped Pool B with Paul Webster 2nd. Tables after round robin play are HERE. Use links on left of page for line scores of all the matches.

Malone and Ewan won their semis and Team Ewan got off to a fast start in the final with single point steals in the first three ends. An accurate last stone draw pulled Aileen Neilson's team within one at the break, and a raised takeout for 2 by Neilson put the teams level after 6. Neilson stole a single in the 7th for her team's first lead.

In the final end Michael McCreadie, playing 2nd for Neilson, drew to just behind the tee line and a succession of short stones and guards allowed the stone to stay in place. However a last stone guard drew just a fraction too far and this gave a narrow window of opportunity to Gregor Ewan who executed a fantastic hit and stay for two and the title. [event report]

 2010 British Open runners-up
Ian Donaldson 3rd, Aileen Neilson skip, Michael McCreadie 2nd and Gerald Pocock lead
[photo - Lesley Brewin]

No comments: