Monday, January 31, 2011

Six Ontario teams competing in Dominion Provincials February 1 - 4

Six teams will be competing at the Toronto Cricket and Curling Club this week for the Dominion Provincial Wheelchair Curling Championship and the right to represent the southern part of the province at the Nationals in Edmonton, March 21-27.

Defending champion Bruce Cameron of Ottawa returns with Doug Morris, Jamie Eddy and Christine Lavallee. Fellow  RA Curling Club skip Richard Fraser has two females on his team;  Joanna Bos at 3rd and Clare Argo at lead, while Don Stinson plays 2nd.

Chris Rees will play on home ice with Carl Bax, Alex Denys and Shauna Petrie. Bradford is represented by Ken Gregory, with Collinda Joseph playing 3rd, Frank Cannarella and Jim Primavera (who was part of the very first Team Canada squad.)

Ilderton CC is bringing two teams to the championship this year. Mark Ideson skips Mike Munro, Tony Reynen and Jacqui Kinahan. The second team is skipped by Dal Wrigley, who moved from Chris Rees's team, Gilbert Blanchette, and two players born in Africa; Hocine Zenile, originally from Algeria and Peninah Mutindah, originally from Kenya.  Ilderton coach Ernie Comeford says all but Jacqui Kinahan are fairly new to the sport.

Some of the Ilderton CC's wheelchair curlers
Mark Ideson, Tony Reynen, Jacqui Kinahan, Gilbert Blanchette, Peninah Mutindah

First Draw is 10AM tomorrow (Tuesday February 1) with five round robin draws being played through Thursday morning. The top team will go straight through to Friday's final to be joined by the winner of the 2 vs 3 semi-final game.

The timetable, schedule and team list can be downloaded HERE

Daily line scores from the Championship should be available from the Ontario Curling Association's website.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I will put my $$ on Rees to win ! I think he is due.